Words

So I like words. Love them actually. Always have. Story goes I was reading the Campbell soup labels at the grocery store when I was only three. I haven’t stopped reading since. I read almost anything and if I don’t have anything else to read, I will revert to reading the Campbell soup label. I like to write words too. I mean, I AM blogging. And oh my, do I love to speak words. Especially words of instruction to my children. You see, I am convinced that I have so much wisdom to impart and that I just need to find the best way to say whatever it is they need to hear. Even if that means I say it 10 different ways in the same conversation. Problem is they tune out. I see it. About 30 minutes into my life changing lecture, eyes glaze over, gazes start to wander, and they make noncommittal sounds to make me think they’re still listening. My almost 20 year old daughter recently gave me some advice. We were discussing, over a simply divine Carmel macchiato at Starbucks, what I needed to do to get through to her brother, my 16 year old son, about a particular issue. (Talking to teenaged boys is so different than talking to teenaged girls.) She reached across the table, gently laid her hands on mine and said “mom, don’t use so many words.” Wow! It was honestly at that very moment like God spoke those words directly into my heart. Don’t use so many words.

“Do not be rash with your mouth, And let not your heart utter anything hastily before God. For God is in heaven, and you on earth; Therefore let your words be few. For a dream comes through much activity, And a fool’s voice is known by his many words.” (Ecclesiastes 5:2, 3 NKJV)

I don’t want to be known as a fool. And I don’t want to talk over God. I don’t want to overstep my role as a parent and try to be my children’s Holy Spirit by talking so much that they can’t hear Him on their own.

Instead, I’m learning to be concise.

Dear Lord, let my words be few. And those I do speak, may they only bring you glory.

I have a lot more to say on the subject but I’m trying to not use so many words.

~Patti

 

Introductions:

My name is Patti Dills. I have been married to Jared Dills for 20 years. I have four kids Kayla, Jacob, Nathan and Isabella. We have had the privilege of being a part of the First Family for 22 years. I have homeschooled for 14 years and I am passionate about family and the discipleship of my children. When I was 16 years old God adopted this sinner into His family. His grace and mercy still overwhelm me. “But God demonstrates His own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” Romans 5:8

Leave a Reply

