Sweet Surrender

So He told them this parable, saying, “What man among you, if he has a hundred sheep and has lost one of them, does not leave the ninety-nine in the open pasture and go after the one which is lost until he finds it? When he has found it, he lays it on his shoulders, rejoicing. And when he comes home, he calls together his friends and his neighbors, saying to them, ‘Rejoice with me, for I have found my sheep which was lost!’ I tell you that in the same way, there will be more joy in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous persons who need no repentance.” Luke 15:3-7  

I have fretted about this post all week. I assured our dear Social Media Coordinator Amanda, that I would have it to her yesterday. Last evening I messaged her and told her I was unable to complete the task after several attempts but would have it submitted Thursday without fail. I asked God, ‘what do I say? What do I have to offer these ladies?’ As I sit here tonight, almost audibly I hear Him saying “Sharalee, you have Me, tell them about Me, offer Me”. 

Sweet ladies my heart cries out for each of you to know the deep love of the Father. No matter your age, your appearance, your past, your present, your family circumstances, your pain, your guilt, your sin, He longs to know you and to be known by you. He pursues you relentlessly. 

I spent 6 plus years in the pit, in the mire of guilt. Days would go by without a shower, clean clothes or even leaving the house. My children received from me what they needed to physically function but little else. I had committed sins that I thought could not be forgiven. I was raised in church, I was saved at 14, I knew better, what was wrong with me?! Deep pain had turned to raging anger and from that anger sickening sin was born. When the dust settled I was an empty shell who believed I was not worthy to live in the real world any longer. Everything I had touched was hurt or destroyed. 

You might ask “Sharalee, why would you bring us to such a place in your life? What does this have to do with God’s pursuit of me?” Precious ones, God pursued me through the sin, through the guilt, through the darkness of deep depression. As I look back over those years I can see His protection, His provision. More than His protection and provision, He continued writing His story in my life so that one day He would be glorified!

Rest assured dear ones that in your surrender to His pursuit He will be glorified! At His prompting I said yes, I repented and surrendered my life to Him anew. Now, I am blessed to come alongside each of you as we seek to go deeper with God and out of that depth comes service to our Great God and in turn the surrender of others. 

To God be the Glory! 

“For the Lord your God is living among you. He is a mighty savior. He will take delight in you with gladness. With his love, he will calm all your fears. He will rejoice over you with joyful songs.” Zephaniah 3:17

 

Post written by Sharalee Tidwell. To learn more about Sharalee visit the “Meet the Leadership Team” tab at the top of the page.

 

Leave a Reply

