HIS Way is Better

Image

I’m not an avid writer. I’m not even a good writer.  But, when asked to write a post as a guest blogger for the Women’s Ministry’s blog, I felt led to try.  Like all Christian’s, I have a story to tell.  The problem is, I rarely tell it.  I don’t know why, because to be honest- its uplifting, exciting and proves the goodness of our Lord and Savior.

Two and half years ago, I was notified by the company I work for there would be a significant restructure. This restructure would leave hundreds of people out of work or “displaced” as they so eloquently called it.   I had been with this global company for 8 years, working my way through an intense and grueling management development program.  I was promoted and had just finished my first year as a district manager. I had proven myself to other leaders in the organization. I felt inspired to work harder and smarter than my more senior peers and had moved my team from the bottom of the pack to the number 4 position in the country.  So, as you can imagine, the news of the layoff hit me hard and overwhelmed me with disappointment.

The company had notified me about the impending layoff months before it actually happened.  At the time, I was involved in a weekly bible study that met on Sunday nights. I vividly remember spending week after week talking to these ladies about my job situation and praying together about the outcome.  Weeks  passed. I gave birth to my second child, Eli, and was thoroughly enjoying maternity leave.  In April of 2011, I received a phone call from my director that I had lost my job.  As much as I considered myself “prepared,” it still felt like a knife in my back. I literally sobbed as I hung up the phone.  I had spent months praying about the outcome, and even though I knew God would take care of my family, I was disappointed. Slowly, worry crept back in and I started to become very anxious about my career.  (Anxious is my word. My husband would call it neurotic).   I continued to pray about it, and graciously – my sisters in Christ did too.

You hear about ways God answers prayers.  The bible is full of stories of people who trusted God and He moved in mighty ways.  Moses, Daniel, Noah, Abraham… all turned it over to God and He showed up.   That’s not to say they didn’t have periods of despair and doubt.   But, they trusted Him to provide – even in a dessert with no food, water or protection.  I certainly am not comparing my story to these mighty men.  But, I will say, even through my worry and anxiety, I trusted God would prove His way is better than my own.

The week before I would be “officially” unemployed by Novartis, a unique opportunity arose.  I was able to stay with the company and work part-time in a sales capacity.    I would have never picked part-time work for myself.  I would have never thought I would take a step back on the career ladder. In fact, I had already been offered another job by a different company.  But, God spoke. I knew the part-time job would be a blessing to my family in a capacity far greater than money.

Now, two years later, I can tell you, it has been a phenomenal blessing. I have spent countless hours playing with my kids, taking them places, reading them books and just being a happier mom.    What I can also share is now, two years later, I am back in the same situation.  My company is doing yet another layoff.  I will find out in a few days if they are eliminating my position.  Don’t get me wrong, I am still scouring the internet for job opportunities, having periods of extreme stress and worry, but I know – beyond a shadow of doubt- that God’s plan is at work. When I feel my faith fading and I begin slipping back into a world of worry, I remember the work He has already done in my life and all the blessings yet to come.

~Robin

 

Meet Our Guest Blogger:

My name is Robin Veazey. I am married to Greg and have two beautiful (although rambunctious) boys – Jake (4) and Eli (2).   We have been with FBC Cabot for about 5 years.  I was saved at an early age and raised in a Christian home.  I strive to raise my kids in the same environment.  

Leave a Reply

