Be Doers of the Word

When I joined First Baptist Church a year ago I had never attended such a mission minded church. In order to be a member at First Baptist you must attend the Life@First class. This was a good place for me to start because I had not attended a Baptist Church before either. As part of the welcome package, Pastor Avey reviewed the mission opportunities available though FBC. I was immediately attracted to the Bangladesh Mission Trip but when I mentioned it to my husband he asked me, “Why that one, why not…” So I let it go.

April showers bring May flowers and June brings VBS. As a new member I wanted to get connected so I tossed my name into the pool of volunteers. Where did Tammy assign me? Teaching the mission message to preschoolers.

November at FBC was all about missions. In fact, it was during the last missions message that a video clip moved my spirit. Images of the crowed streets and train station in Bangladesh moved me to tears and my heart broke for those people. So many. So lost without Christ. After that message I contacted John Carney, the mission team leader.

Through my time in scripture, those series of events, and my scripture verse for 2013 – I felt God calling me to Bangladesh. My scripture verse for 2013 was James 1:22 – we are to be doers of the word, and not hearers only. What does His Word tell us about missions? From the beginning…

The Lord had said to Abram, “Go from your country, your people and your father’s household to the land I will show you. “I will make you into a great nation, and I will bless you; I will make your name great, and you will be a blessing. I will bless those who bless you, and whoever curses you I will curse; and all peoples on earth will be blessed through you.”

This blessing is repeated in Genesis 26:4 & Genesis 28:14. Now read it again in light of Galatians 3:29, “If you belong to Christ, then you are Abraham’s seed, and heirs according to the promise” and Galatians 3:14 “He redeemed us in order that the blessing given to Abraham might come to the Gentiles through Christ Jesus, so that by faith we might receive the promise of the Spirit.” You don’t need a calling to be apart of missions because you are part of the family. God intended to use us to reach others from the very beginning, it was part of his divine plan. Will you yield your heart to his purposes and let Him bless others through you?

How dare we adopt a hostile or scornful or even indifferent attitude to any person of another color or culture if our God is the God of “all the families of the earth”? We need to become global Christians with global vision,  for we have a global God.  ~John R. W. Stott

For further study. These verses speak to Gods desire for his name to be know among the nations:

1 Sam 17:45-46 …the whole world will know that there is a God in Israel

1 Kings 8:41-43so that all the peoples of the earth may know your name and fear you

Ps 46:10I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.

Ps 67:1-2 …so that your ways may be know on earth, your salvation among all nations

Dan 3:29-30 …for no other god can save in this way

Isa 49:6that my salvation may reach to the ends of the earth.

Jer 16:19-20to you the nations will come from the ends of the earth and say, “Our ancestors possessed nothing but false gods, worthless idols that did them no good. Do people make their own gods? Yes, but they are not gods!”

Hab 2:14 For the earth will be filled with the knowledge of the glory of the Lord as the waters cover the sea.

Zeph 2:11 The Lord will be awesome to them when he destroys all the gods of the earth. Distant nations will bow down to him, all of them in their own lands.

Mal 1:11 My name will be great among the nations, from where the sun rises to where it sets. In every place incense and pure offerings will be brought to me, because my name will be great among the nations,” says the Lord Almighty.

Matt 24:14 And this gospel of the kingdom will be preached in the whole world as a testimony to all nations, and then the end will come.

1 John 2:2 He is the atoning sacrifice for our sins, and not only for ours but also for the sins of the whole world.

We are blessed to be a blessing. Far more than a duty – it’s our destiny.

~ John R. W. Stott

Are you ready to be more than a hearer of God’s Word? There is still room on the Bangladesh mission team and others. If you cannot commit to GO this year then please pledge to pray for our mission teams, our church plants, and our international missionaries.

Image

Leave a Reply

