When We Become Mothers

Isa 40-11

My parents adopted me when I was six weeks old, then spent the following years teaching me how special it was to be chosen. That’s probably why I responded to the gospel at the age of 7 and gave my life to Christ. I truly understood what it meant to be sought out by someone fully committed to rescuing me from a life of despair and offering me a future and a hope, especially when I had done nothing to deserve those blessings and was certainly not in a position to offer anything in return.

When we become mothers–by birth or by marriage or by choice–we begin the sacred task of teaching our children how to be like Jesus, whether we realize it or not. We change identities like He did, willingly trading our freedom and comfort for the chance to know a child. We sacrifice our bodies, forever carrying scars on our skin and in our hearts as we labor to raise and love them. We cry out to God in prayer when we are overwhelmed by the burden of what we’ve been called to do. We teach and train them so they will be prepared for what life throws at them, but they don’t listen. And then our time is up and they are on their own.

Jesus is always our perfect example, even in parenting. Jesus didn’t fix everything or take care of everyone. He didn’t neglect a personal relationship with God the Father. He didn’t ignore Scripture. Jesus showed us how to be good mothers: by sacrificially loving our children, teaching them about God’s plan, and sending them out into the world to disciple others in the same way. So, “let us not be weary in well doing,” for He will “gently lead those who are with young.” (Galatians 6:9 and Isaiah 40:11) Happy Mother’s Day!

2 thoughts on “When We Become Mothers

  1. Mrs. Addison, thank you for sharing this. It spoke to my heart. I’m a mother if three and have not always made the right decisions in raising them, but I will say that since being apart of First Baptist Cabot, I’m on a ever changing journey to follow after and raise my child to follow after Christ. Happy Mother’s Day to you, too.

Leave a Reply

