No Place to Hide – Book Review

When I was 17 years old I talked my parents into signing the waiver that would allow me to join the Air Force. I wanted to work in the medical field. The Air Force allowed me the opportunity to train at Wilford Hall Medical Center before issuing orders to my first duty assignment, the Air Force Academy. After a brief time on the ambulatory surgery unit I was reassigned to the Emergency Department. Where I spent my remaining 3 years as an EMT/Emergency Room technician. A few months prior to the end of my enlistment I volunteer for a deployment to Saudi Arabia. An entire hospital team, 60 people, traveled to the “sandbox” in support of Operation Southern Watch. We arrived in time to transition the field hospital (tents) into a more hardened facility. This new facility consisted of double wide trailers linked together with x-ray and operating room connexes attached by canvas walkways. Our days held a comfortable routine and most of our patients suffered only sports related injuries. Operation Desert Fox kicked off shortly after our arrival and brought with it a few days of helmets and chem gear but the fear was short lived. I am grateful to have deployed at a relative time of peace.

I chose to read this book because the publisher’s synopsis mentioned military medics and C-130‘s. Reading Dr. Warren’s book brought back fond memories of the amazing men and women that I served with. I received a copy of this book from booklookbloggers.com in exchange for my honest review.Image

Image

 

Amanda’s Review:

No Place to Hide is really a book about two wars – one a military conflict and the other a combat surgeons battle for control. The first war magnifies the physical sacrifice and emotional wounds that service men and women are willing to endure for our freedoms. No Place to Hide details the cost of war while honoring human compassion. This book will take you on an emotional roller coaster through intimate accounts of lives saved and lives lost. The second war takes place within Dr. Warren as his sense of control over his life and marriage slips away. He battles feelings of insecurity, a failing marriage, and the horrors of war that threaten to shake his faith. From cover to cover Dr. W. Lee Warren’s book honors our troops and glorifies God.

Image

A word of caution:

 

At first I wanted my husband to read the book because he had “been there, done that” but then two thoughts came to mind. First, graphic descriptions of injuries and medical procedures would probably make him squeamish. There is a reason he is a pilot and not a doctor. Secondly, Jay would admit to having been irritable after his deployments, but after four tours to the military base portrayed in the book he came home relatively unscathed. Most of his stories are about things that he and his crew did to break the monotony of their deployment. I would hate to remind him of the darker side of war. As a military spouse I enjoyed the insight into his world, but I would caution that it may not be for everyone.Image

Image

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

